NWB - Community Blog

Avatar

SCAM WARNING

Filed Under : Rants , Hello | Promote : Facebook Facebook digg it Digg It

Posted By : Ian Runciman | Comments : 6

I have just had a scam attempted on me so I thought I would post details so they can't use the same details again

The email address they used was john_draper@live.com

the mobile number he provided was 07031862114

He sent me a cheque for £3,800 for a £550 item. Obviously the cheque is now with the police

The company that sent the cheque was Gamucci Limited
Signed By Anthony Adams (Director)
Address: Barclays business Centre, Soho Sq branch
PO Box 4WA, 27 Soho Square, London, W1D 3QR

It amazes me that companies like Barclays allow these people to trade through them. In fact it doesn't just amaze me it disgusts me

Anyway thought I would let everyone on here know

Comments


# Posted by Square One - A tribute to Cold... - 24/07/2008, 13:32 (GMT)
Nasty.. I had a weird scam attempted on me last year but it was a band one! Basically it was a guy asking if we could play his daughters birthday party.. All seemed legit at first until it started smelling fishy.. I asked various things about this 'party' then the next email came asking for my bank account details as he wanted to pay into it directly! But he asked for my debit card number the idiot ! I then started asking him things about this 'venue' and could I see a photo of his 'garden' where the gig was gonna take place..

He sent me a photo of a farmers field off Google and his postcode according to google maps was about 3 feet long in Bolton! Classic!!


# Posted by Rumble Fat Band - 25/07/2008, 00:12 (GMT)
It's been rife on Loot for years. First time I have heard of a Gumtree Ad being targetted. have a Bass For Sale on Loot at the moment and have had 2 Scam e-mails already. Someone i know actually got the better of one of these low lifes. He won't tell me how he did it as apparently it turned a bit hairy.


# Posted by Square One - A tribute to Cold... - 25/07/2008, 11:15 (GMT)
I had an ad on Loot one time advertising for a singer.. I got a reply from some guy offering me money for it.. ?????? After telling the thick dildo that it was an advert for a SINGER and nothing was for sale, he replied offering me double! Thick *******!!


# Posted by Rumble Fat Band - 26/07/2008, 10:09 (GMT)
Yep had that one as well. They use some sort of scanning software to pick the ads up and then sends a proforma type of e-mail. The "english" is always appaling as well.


# Posted by Solus - 27/07/2008, 13:21 (GMT)
i got scammed twice by the same guys. it was a german guitar company that i bought a guitar with a pearl dragon up the neck and it had a floyd rose on it. however the floyd rose snapped off entirely and i thought, "well its not really their fault". i brought ANOTHER guitar off them which was a apocalypse v shaped (like the ones from kiss) but that all started to fall apart too. i was just a beginner at the time so if it looks cool i went for it.

but recently i took them both apart since they dont work and i found out that the electronics were held together with sticky tape and the body was attually made from some kind of plywood (like sawdust stuck together by glue). so i salveged the good parts and its speared me on to make my own guitar. it aint gonna be a prs but it will be fun though


# Posted by the fix - 02/09/2008, 12:32 (GMT)
hi guys i personally work for barclays and im not gonna sit here and preach but i obviously see quite a lot of this sort of thing going on. the best advice for any sort of fraud is if it seems to good to be true it generally is! always do your homework guys in regards to booking gigs etc. and never ever ever give out your account details or card numbers to anybody you dont know. seriously guys its fucking scary how sophisticated fraud is now. take care guys much love the fix